About-France subject index for mobiles About-France home page for full-screens French route maps French travel and tourism guide

About-France.com
for small screen mobiles
For the full-screen version of this page,
visit the French school holiday dates page for standard viewing.

 French school holiday dates
2016 - 2017 - 2018


French school holiday calendars

You may also want to consult the Week-by-week holiday planner for 2017
   For school-holiday purposes, France is divided into three zones: in recent years and for the coming years, all three zones have the same school holiday calendar from the start of the school year, in September, until the end of January. It is only the winter and spring holidays that differ - mainly in order to spread the season for French winter sports resorts.  
   One excellent time to visit France is in the late summer and Autumn, between the start of the school year and the Toussaint holiday.


►  Click to find and book a hotel anywhere in France, .


2016 - 2017 
French school holiday calendar



ZONE A  
SW and Central France from the Atlantic coast to the Swiss border
ZONE B
Northern France, from the Loire Valley to Alsace, excluding Paris area + Provence
ZONE C
Greater Paris and Central southern France - Midi-Pyrenees and Languedoc
Start of the summer holiday Tuesday 5th July 2016 after classes
Autumn term starts Thursday 1st September  2016
Toussaint - half term holiday period From Thursday 20th October 2016
to Wednesday 2nd November 2016 inclusive 
Christmas holidays From  Saturday 17th December 2016
to Monday 2nd January 2017 inclusive
Winter holiday Saturday 18th Feb 2017  to Sunday 5th March 2017 Saturday 11th February 2017
to Sunday 26th February 2017
Saturday 4th February 2017
to Sunday 19th March 2017
Spring holiday Saturday 15th April 2017 to Sunday 1st Mayl 2017 Saturday 8th April 2017 to Sunday 23rd April 2017 Saturday 1st April 2017 to Sunday 17th April 2017
French Whitsun weekend
Start of the summer holiday Saturday 8th July 2017

And 2017-2018

Careful: this is for next school year !


ZONE A  
SW and Central France from the Atlantic coast to the Swiss border
ZONE B
Northern France, from the Loire Valley to Alsace, excluding Paris area + Provence
ZONE C
Greater Paris and Central southern France - Occitanie
Start of the summer holiday Saturday 8th July 2017
Autumn term starts Monday 4th September  2017
Toussaint - half term holiday period From Saturday 21st October 2017
to Sunday 5th November 2017  
Christmas holidays From  Saturday 23rd December 2017
to Sunday 7th January 2018 
Winter holiday Saturday 10th Feb 2018  to Sunday 25th Feb 2018 Saturday 24th February 2018
to Sunday 11th March 2018
Saturday 17th February 2018
to Sunday 4th March 2018
Spring holiday Saturday 7th April 2018 to Sunday 22nd April 2018 Saturday 21st April 2018 to Sunday 6th May 2018 Saturday 17th April 2018 to Sunday 29th April 2018
French Whitsun weekend
Start of the summer holiday Saturday 7th July 2018