About-France.com
School holidays in france

French school holiday dates 

Check holiday dates for different parts of France.
About-France.com - the conoisseur's guide to France

FRENCH SCHOOL HOLIDAY DATES
for  2019 - 2020


Paris hotels on a map
Click for selected
Paris hotels map
For school-holiday purposes, France is divided into three zones: in recent years and for the coming years, all three zones have the same school holiday calendar from the start of the school year, in September, until the end of January. It is only the winter and spring holidays that differ - mainly in order to spread the season for French winter sports resorts.  
   One excellent time to visit France is in the late summer and Autumn, between the start of the school year and the Toussaint holiday.
You may also want to consult the
Week-by-week holiday planner for 2019

2019 - 2020 French school holiday calendar




ZONE A  
SW and Central France from the Atlantic coast to the Swiss border
ZONE B
Northern France, from the Loire Valley to Alsace, excluding Paris area,  + Provence
ZONE C
Greater Paris and Central southern France - Occitanie
Start of the summer holiday Saturday 6th July 2019 after classes
Autumn term starts Monday 2nd September 2019
Toussaint - half term holiday period From Saturday 19th October 2019
to Sunday 3rd November 2019 inclusive 
Christmas holidays From  Friday 20th or Saturday 21st December after classes
to Sunday 5th January 2020 inclusive
Winter holiday Saturday 22nd Feb 2020  to Sunday 8th March 2020 Saturday 15th February 2020
to Sunday 1st March 2020
Saturday 8rd February 2020
to Sunday 23rd February 2020
Spring holiday Saturday 18th April 2020 to Sunday 3rd May 2020 Saturday 11th April 2020 to Sunday 26th April 2020 Saturday 4th April 2020 to Sunday 19th April 2020
Ascension weekend Thursday 21st May to Sunday 24th May 2020 inclusive
Start of the summer holiday Saturday 4th July 2020



►► More useful pages

About-France.com   Home page -  Site search  -  Regions  -  Maps of France  -  Contact


The French school holiday calendar.  
For school holiday dates, France is divided into three parts. Knowing when French schools are out can be useful information when it comes to choosing when to travel to France.
   For French bank holiday dates, visit the week planner.

Holiday gites in France direct booking with owners mostly English speakers
Gitelink.com
Hotel search



About-France.com - full site index




Photo top of page -
France Miniature, at Elancourt, to the west of Paris


Website text and photos © copyright About-France.com 2004 - 2019
unless otherwise stated


About-France.com uses cookies to offer you a complete service. If you are OK with this, click otherwise request more details